Floyd Bloom, M.D.

The Scripps Research Institute

Floyd BloomDr. Bloom is a Professor Emeritus at Scripps Research Dr. Bloom was the formal Chairman of the Department of Neuropharmacology at the Scripps Research Institute.

Dr. Bloom is the immediate past Editor-in-Chief of Science, the world’s premier journal of scientific thought and discovery, and served as President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science from 2002 to 2003, and as Chairman of the Board of Directors, from 2003 to 2004. A professor at Scripps Research since 1983, Dr. Bloom has served as Chairman of the Department of Neuropharmacology from 1989 to 2000 and again from 2002 to 2005. A member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1977, Dr. Bloom is the recipient of numerous prizes for his contributions to science, including the Janssen Award in the Basic Sciences and the Pasarow Award in Neuropsychiatry. He has also been named a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and a member of the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Bloom’s more than 600 publications include the seminal work: The Biochemical Basis of Neuropharmacology.